Imprimer

THE COLLECTIONS

Archaeology

The archaeological collection of the Museum of Yverdon and its Region goes back to the 19th century. From the beginning of that century a number of private individuals started presenting the institution with objects that had been found by chance when people were digging or building in Yverdon. The second half of the century saw the first systematic archaeological excavations organised on the shores of Lake Neuchâtel, at the sites of the lakeside settlements of Concise and Corcelettes near Grandson. They were conducted by Louis Rochat (1824-1882), who taught science at the town’s secondary school. He was passionate about archaeology and was also curator of the museum. He presented the institution with everything he found during his excavations.
The first excavations at the late Roman castrum, conducted in 1903 and 1906 under the direction of cantonal archaeologist Albert Naef, also produced a large number of items which considerably swelled the museum’s collections. Other archaeological finds were added to them later, including from the 1960s onwards the very rich prehistoric material from Yverdon’s Neolithic and Bronze Age lakeside sites in the avenue des Sports.
In 1953 the Canton of Vaud named the Museum of Yverdon and its Region legal depository for all Roman archaeological material found in the former district of Yverdon, and for finds from all other periods discovered in Yverdon and Cheseaux-Noréaz, (i.e. what used to be the administrative “cercle” of Yverdon). The museum’s archaeological collection therefore includes thousands of artefacts from Yverdon and the surrounding region covering practically all periods from the Neolithic to the Early Middle Ages (Neolithic, Bronze Age, Iron Age, Roman period, Late Antiquity and Early Middle Ages).
Only a small selection of the objects is permanently on display; the remainder are kept in store.

History

Since the beginning of the 19th century, the Museum of Yverdon and its Region has housed and preserved typical objects that reflect the town’s cultural and artistic history. Over the last two centuries its collection has been regularly enlarged, mainly through private donations.
The museum currently owns a large stock of pictures, mainly works relating to Yverdon and its region from the 16th century up to the present day: more than 800 drawings, watercolours and engravings and a few dozen oil paintings. In addition it possesses a large number of old photographs of the 19th and 20th centuries, consisting of several remarkable collections (the Joseph Centurier, Théophile Benner and Jean Perusset archives). The museum also houses several hundred objects of various kinds: furniture, including about 30 items in the Yverdon style that constitute a reference set, tableware, costumes, scientific instruments, precious items and objects of everyday use, examples of local crafts and of the industries of Yverdon, such as Paillard, Leclanché and Vautier. All these objects reflect local practices, customs and traditions, and thus help to write the history of Yverdon and the region, the history of its art and its technology, its economy and its society.
Only a small percentage of the collection is permanently on display.

Egyptian antiquities

The museum’s collection of Egyptian antiquities goes back to 1896, when Edwin Simond (1856-1911), an agricultural engineer from Yverdon who was living and working in Alexandria at the time, donated the mummy of the priest Nes-Shou and his funerary equipment to the town of Yverdon. This ensemble from the Ptolemaic period (around 200 B.C.), consisting not only of the mummy of the dead man and his sarcophagus with its richly decorated casket and lid, but also of fragments of cartonnage and a Book of the Dead, is regarded by specialists as one of the most complete and most interesting held in Switzerland. It forms the heart of the collection, which was enriched in 1983 by an anonymous donor who presented the museum with nine pieces of exceptional quality. These include four remarkable stone statuettes which belonged to dignitaries living at the end of the Middle Empire, various bronze figurines and also a stele of archaic type dating from the Saite period. In 1993, the collection was further enlarged with 204 pieces bequeathed by the descendents of Edwin Simond.
Of the 400 or so objects from ancient Egypt held by the Museum of Yverdon and its Region, only one fifth is currently on show. The display focuses mainly on the mummy of Nes-Shou and his funerary equipment.

Ethnography

The Museum of Yverdon and its Region can boast of possessing a very interesting ethnography collection. In addition to several collections of artefacts brought back by citizens of Yverdon in the 19th and 20th centuries from their various travels in Asia or Africa, the institution also houses a remarkable set of Amerindian objects. The 25 or so pieces making up the collection are among the oldest and finest held anywhere in Switzerland. The collection, which was studied recently by Professor Christian Feest, director of the Museum of Ethnology in Vienna (Austria) consists of about ten pieces from the second half of the 18th century, while the remainder can probably be dated to the first half of the following century. All, or nearly all, of them apparently come from the Great Lakes area of North America. Unfortunately it is still not known how they came to be in the collection of the Yverdon Museum. In the absence of detailed information, it is supposed that some of them may have belonged to Frédéric Haldimand (1718-1791) of Yverdon, or to his colleague Henry Bouquet (1719-1765) of Aubonne, since both of them had brilliant careers in North America. The items are currently kept in the museum store and are therefore not on display.

 

Back to top

Imprimer

LES COLLECTIONS

Archéologie

La collection archéologique du Musée d’Yverdon et région trouve son origine au 19e siècle. Dès le début de ce siècle en effet, de nombreux particuliers confièrent à l’institution des pièces découvertes fortuitement dans le sous-sol yverdonnois. La seconde moitié de ce même siècle vit les premières fouilles systématiques organisées sur les bords du lac de Neuchâtel, sur les sites palafittiques de Concise et de Corcelettes, près de Grandson. Elles furent conduites par Louis Rochat (1824-1882), maître de sciences naturelles au collège secondaire de la ville. Ce passionné d’archéologie était également conservateur du musée et il remit à l’institution la totalité du produit de ses fouilles.
Les premières investigations du castrum du Bas-Empire, mises sur pied en 1903 et 1906 sous la direction de l’archéologue cantonal Albert Naef, livrèrent également un abondant matériel qui permit d’accroître considérablement les collections du musée. Par la suite, d’autres trouvailles archéologiques s’y ajoutèrent, parmi lesquelles, dès les années 1960, le très riche matériel préhistorique provenant des sites littoraux d’Yverdon, avenue des Sports, du Néolithique et de l’âge du Bronze.
Depuis 1953, en vertu de dispositions légales de l’Etat de Vaud, le Musée d’Yverdon et région est dépositaire du matériel archéologique d’époque romaine trouvé dans l’ancien district d’Yverdon et du matériel de toute autre époque pour les territoires d’Yverdon-les-Bains et de Cheseaux-Noréaz (l’ancien «cercle» d’Yverdon). La collection archéologique du musée comprend ainsi des milliers de pièces provenant d’Yverdon et de la région couvrant pratiquement toutes les périodes, du Néolithique au Haut Moyen Age(Néolithique, âge du Bronze, âge du Fer, époque romaine, Bas-Empire et Haut Moyen Age).
Seule une petite sélection d’objets est intégrée à l’exposition permanente du musée, le solde étant conservé dans des dépôts.

Histoire

Depuis le début du 19e siècle, le Musée d’Yverdon et région recueille et conserve des objets-témoins de l’histoire culturelle et artistique de la ville. Au cours des deux derniers siècles, sa collection a été régulièrement enrichie, essentiellement grâce à des dons de particuliers.
Elle comprend actuellement un ensemble d’iconographie important réunissant des œuvres relatives à Yverdon et à sa région qui datent du 16e siècle à nos jours: plus de 800 dessins, aquarelles et estampes et quelques dizaines d’huiles sur toile. S’y ajoute un très riche ensemble de photographies anciennes des 19e et 20e siècles comportant plusieurs fonds remarquables (fonds Joseph Centurier, Théophile Benner et Jean Perusset). La collection contient en outre plusieurs centaines de pièces de toutes sortes: du mobilier, parmi lequel la trentaine de pièces de style d’Yverdon constitue un ensemble de référence, de la vaisselle, des costumes, des instruments scientifiques, des objets précieux ou d’usage quotidien, des témoignages de l’artisanat local et des industries yverdonnoises, telles Paillard, Leclanché et Vautier. Tous ces objets attestent de pratiques, d’usages et de traditions et contribuent ainsi à écrire l’histoire de la vie d’Yverdon et de la région, celle des arts et des techniques, de l’économie et de la société.
Seul un faible pourcentage de la collection est intégré à l’exposition permanente du musée.

Antiquités égytiennes

L’origine de la collection d’antiquités égyptiennes du musée remonte à 1896, quand Edwin Simond (1856-1911), ingénieur agronome yverdonnois qui vivait et travaillait alors à Alexandrie, fit don à la Ville d’Yverdon de la momie du prêtre Nes-Shou et de son trousseau funéraire. Cet ensemble d’époque ptolémaïque (vers 200 av. J.-C.) qui comporte, outre le corps momifié du défunt, son sarcophage avec cuve et couvercle richement ornés, des éléments de cartonnage et un Livre des Morts, est considéré par les spécialistes comme le plus complet et l’un des plus intéressants conservés en Suisse. Il forme le noyau de la collection. Cette dernière fut enrichie en 1983 par un donateur anonyme qui remit au musée neuf pièces d’une qualité exceptionnelle. Parmi elles se trouvent quatre remarquables statuettes en pierre appartenant à des dignitaires de la fin du Moyen Empire, diverses figurines en bronze, ainsi qu’une stèle saïte de type archaïque. En 1993, la collection fut encore complétée par 204 pièces léguées par les descendants d’Edwin Simond.
Sur les quelque 400 pièces de l’Egypte antique que détient le Musée d’Yverdon et région, seul un cinquième est actuellement exposé. La présentation s’articule essentiellement autour de la momie Nes-Shou et de son trousseau funéraire.

Ethnographie

Le Musée d’Yverdon et région peut s’enorgueillir de posséder une très intéressante collection d’ethnographie. Outre plusieurs lots d’objets rapportés au cours des 19e et 20e siècles par des Yverdonnois au gré de leurs pérégrinations en Asie ou en Afrique, l’institution conserve un remarquable ensemble de spécimens amérindiens. Les quelque 25 pièces qui le composent comptent au nombre des plus anciennes et des plus prestigieuses conservées en Suisse. Récemment étudié par le professeur Christian Feest, directeur du Musée d’art populaire de Vienne, en Autriche, l’ensemble comprend une dizaine de pièces de la seconde moitié du 18e siècle, le solde pouvant vraisemblablement être attribué à la première moitié du siècle suivant. Toutes les pièces ou presque proviennent manifestement de la région des Grands Lacs nord américains. Malheureusement, on ignore encore par quels chemins elles ont gagné les collections du Musée d’Yverdon. En l’absence de témoignages précis, on suppose que certaines pourraient avoir appartenu à l’Yverdonnois Frédéric Haldimand (1718-1791) ou à son comparse d’Aubonne Henry Bouquet (1719-1765), puisque tous deux ont mené de brillantes carrières en Amérique du Nord.
Les pièces sont actuellement conservées dans les dépôts du musée et ne sont donc pas exposées.

Haut de page